Introduction

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Johnny
Egg

Introduction

Post by Johnny »

I just want to start off by thanking all current rangers and soldiers for defending our wonderful country!
I will be 30 this month and have always wanted to be a Ranger. I would have gone into the army straight out of high school, but I got a full scholarship to run track in college so I chose that route. After college, I began working at a big city Sheriff's Department and I have been a police officer ever since. I have always been a PT machine and love anything challenging. In high school I was a much better wrestler than runner, but turned down scholarship offers for wrestling to pursue track. I think I knew it would be more of a challenge, so I chose that route. I love being a police officer, but with 30 right around the corner, it is now or never for the Rangers. I am not sure if my job would be waiting for me when I got back, so I can only pursue this dream if the Sheriff agrees. I am not sure if I can even just commit for 2 years and be able to become a Ranger, but I am going to try. I cannot run nearly as fast as I used to but can still squeeze out a 12:00 two mile. I recently tried my pushups and situps for 2:00 and got around 100 for each. I hope to improve to 120 before trying to enlist. My running has slowed down mainly because I focus more on weight lifting now. I recently competed at the Police and Fire Games and Bench Pressed 340 lbs while competing in the 181 lb weight class. If I get the go ahead from the sheriff, and If I can swing it financially, nothing will stop me from being a Ranger! I currently make around 80k a year and have a $1,450 house payment. I am hoping I can get a big enough signing bonus to pay the mortgage up front for two years. I guess I am on here to get some advise from other rangers. Will I even get my shot to be a ranger if I only commit to two years?