Introduction

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Adam81
USAR Veteran

Introduction

Post by Adam81 »

My name is Adam and I am a 217 year old attorney from Paramus, NJ. I enlisted in the Army Reserve in 10/97 as a 91B and attended basic at Ft. Jackson, SC (2-13th Infantry). Like most medics, I attended AIT at Ft. Sam Houston in Texas. I was then assigned to the 306th MP's in Uniondale, NY, where I was attending college. I completed my service in the IRR in 10/04.

I joined this site to learn from and interact with active or veteran Rangers. My grandfather served with the Meryll's Marauders in WWII in Burma and Indochina, and he tried to instill Ranger values in me since I was a young boy.

My grandfather is now very ill and has been hospitalized since last February. However, he wears his hat bearing the Ranger tab along with several medals and his infantry badge every day. Thankfully, shortly before he fell ill he was able to return to Ft. Benning and meet and interact with several active Rangers. They are the only men he really relates to, so it was great to see him so happy.

Unfortunately his doctors say he will not live much longer because of a variety of physical illnesses. I am interested in finding out what sort of honors he will be entitled to when he passes. I come from a family of servicemen and when they passed away the the VFW sent representatives. However, my grandfather is the only Ranger. Not only that, but his entire life since WWII has revolved around being a Ranger. I want to make sure that when he passes he is paid a proper tribute.

I am also interested in finding out how I can send care packages to Rangers serving right now. For example, what items are specifically prohibited (alcohol, food?) and what items are most needed.

Thank you all for allowing me to introduce myself.

Adam
Earthpig
Ranger

Post by Earthpig »

***MOVED TO PROPER FORUM***