What is the record for the longest jump at Friar Field?

Military Humor. Laugh at me. Laugh at you. Laugh at them.

Moderator: Site Admin

al_2ndWolfhounds
Ranger

What is the record for the longest jump at Friar Field?

Post by al_2ndWolfhounds »

During the mid-summer of 1968 I was a training officer for a NCOC company at Benning. During an afternoon river crossing class (that faced towards Friar Field) we could observe the afternoons jump. That afternoon we were treated to a very unusual sight. Amongst all of the descending chutes there was one that after a few seconds started rising and drifting in a southerly direction periodically falling only to rise again and continuing its journey to southern Georgia. After watching this hapless jumper for over half an hour we were then able to also watch the helicopter that followed him. I never did find out how long he stayed up or how far he drifted but the popular story was that was his first and last jump.

Does anyone know what the longest jump is?
RLTW

Active service 01/67-12/73
Ranger Class 10-68
2/27 Inf 25th Inf Div Vietnam 01/69-01/70

"In America, anybody can be president. That's one of the risks you take." - Adlai Stevenson (1900-1965)
“The enemy is anybody who’s going to get you killed, no matter which side he is on.” – Joseph Heller, Catch-22
centermass
Ranger Admin/RIP Ranger

Re: What is the record for the longest jump at Friar Field?

Post by centermass »

As a Jumpmaster, had one guy I put out over the DZ. He hit a thermal and was still in the air, just drifting around long after I hit the ground. Eventually, he wound up in a Food Lion parking lot. He called the SDNCO letting him know his location so he could get a ride back.

I'm thinking all tolled, he was airborne for at least 20 minutes or more.
RS 8-81
Mentor to Rock2/75
US Army Retired 1977-1999

Remember, always be yourself....unless you're Batman. In that case, be Batman.
hobbit
Rest In Peace Ranger

Post by hobbit »