Sit rep- The_Other

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
The_Other
Inprocessing

Sit rep- The_Other

Post by The_Other »

Rangers and those aspiring to be:

Yesterday I graduated with those from class 07-13. First, I want to thank the Rangers on this site who helped prepare me for RASP.

For those yet to go, I'll add what I can, there is already some really great advice on this forum. One thing I haven't seen stressed as much, especially in these summer months is proper hydration. It wasn't until after I got to RASP that I learned what that meant. With the pt you do, you will sweat a lot and need to replenish that water. Salt up your meals too so it's not just going through you. When you're in the field, especially Cole Range, use the iodized salt packets. A lot of us had at least heat cramps there, some close to heat stroke. We had at least 5 drops as heat casualties, with one having a 107 degree core temp. Drink water every 5 minutes, drink it if you aren't thirsty, drink it until your piss is clear, then keep drinking. Even if you are just waiting around in formation you need to be mindful, the humidity and Georgia sun will cook you.

The other point to emphasize isn't new but can't be stressed enough: mental toughness and having the right mind set. People quit for the dumbest reasons and try to bullshit their excuse, "It's not for me... I just don't want it anymore" etc. They are just to afraid to admit they are a pussy. Some try to convince them to stay and tell them they will regret it later, which they will, but don't waste your time on them, they usually have bad attitudes and you WILL end up picking up their slack until they quit. And if they don't want to be there the don't need to be.