Introduction: Kevin

Who are you? What is your age/education level? Clearly state the purpose of your visit. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

dawekl
Egg

Introduction: Kevin

Post by dawekl »

Hello Rangers and future Rangers,

My name is Kevin and I am from Ohio. I am 24 years young and 6'0" and 200 lbs. I graduated college about a year and a half ago with a degree in International Business. I tried the professional atmosphere for awhile because that's what I thought I was "supposed" to do, when in reality, I have dreamed of being a Ranger for years and years. About seven months ago my cousin became a Green Beret. It was at that moment I realized it is crazier for me to fear my dream and live a "normal" life than it is to pursue a dream. Once I heard my cousin had made it, I knew with dedication, I could also make it.

So I took my trip to my local recruitment office in a very naive state of mind, doing no prior research. I informed my recruiter of a surgery I had on my labrum in my right shoulder about 4 years ago. I thought nothing of it at the time as my shoulder is fine today. I have played two years of college lacrosse since my surgery and continue to workout daily and have never had an issue. My recruiter never mentioned this would be an issue until I found out for myself at MEPS just yesterday. I was DQ'd, but was allowed to complete my physical and MEPS is setting me up for a waiver request with an Army doctor. After this event I really began to worry that my dream could be done, so I began to search for answers when I stumbled upon this amazing site. (I wish I had a long time ago)