25B Intro

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

CowGoMoo
Egg

25B Intro

Post by CowGoMoo »

Hi,

I'm 24 years old and recently joined the military as a 25B. Prior to the military I went to school for a year studying aerospace engineering (hated it) and then dropped out to work for blizzard entertainment. I was a quality assurance analyst for a few years but decided I needed to move forward in life (fun but dead end job) so I enlisted in the army.

Currently, I am in airborne school and am deciding if the 75th is somewhere I want to be. I like my job and but am not an infantryman and don't want to be one, but I do want a high speed unit where I can learn a lot and get promoted quickly. I plan on either becoming an officer, warrant officer or moving to the civilian side of things if i end up wanting out of the military.

I am good at PT and could endure 'the suck' to get through 8 weeks of RASP, but I don't want to join the regiment only to spend all of my time still in 'the suck,' training, running battle-drills and always crawling in the mud instead of acting as a 25B. I don't have a problem with going outside the wire from time to time, but I don't want that sorta thing on a daily basis.

Anyone in the 75th as signal or other support MOS's have any insight as to what it's like in the regiment as a non-combat MOS soldier?

Thanks, and if my grammar and spelling are awful it's partially because I don't have a computer at the moment and did this on my phone :/
Jim
Rest In Peace Ranger

Re: 25B Intro

Post by Jim »

Welcome. If you want to earn your place in the 75th Ranger Regiment, you came to the right site. Stay focused through airborne training, and you may get selected. Never, never quit!
Ranger Class 13-71
Advisor, VN 66-68 69-70
42d Vn Ranger Battalion 1969-1970
Trainer, El Salvador 86-87
Advisor, Saudi Arabian National Guard 91, 93-94
75th RRA Life Member #867
goon175
Ranger

Post by goon175 »