Introduction- Prior Service thinking of re-enlisting

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

SPCVan
US Army Veteran

Introduction- Prior Service thinking of re-enlisting

Post by SPCVan »

Good evening, Rangers and assorted others!

My name is Mike, and I am a 30 yr old veteran of the Army. I joined in '97 on a DEP program for the reserves as a 91B (later 91W). I did my Basic at Ft. Benning, where they dragged my happy ass up and down Sand Hill for 3 "Zero Weeks" plus Basic, then I shipped off to Ft. Sam Houston for medic school. After 9-11 my unit and I were activated, re-trained as MPs, and stationed at Nellis AFB in Las Vegas, NV, to help the Air Force guard their own goddam base. After two years of that, I spent one more year in the reserves before leaving to finish my schooling, see to dead/dying relatives and other family emergencies, and to help manage my family's business. Fast-forward to present day- I am a week from graduation with a Bachelor's in History and am contemplating my options.

Grad school doesn't seem like a fit for me, and there simply isn't much in the way of a career for a history major short of the PhD level. Given the current state of affairs, coupled with my own personal situation, the call to serve once more is stronger than ever. I feel that I would excel at OCS if I chose to go the route of the officer, but what I really loved to do was serve as a line medic and thus I feel the pull towards an enlistment contract more than seeking a commission. After reading through this site for a bit, I feel that an enlistment contract for 68W would suit me right down to the ground.