SITREP - Tucker

Questions and Answers about obtaining an Option 40 Contract and other routes to serving as a Ranger in the US Army.
hit_it
Paratrooper

Re: SITREP - Tucker

Post by hit_it »

Sand wrote:I enlisted with the National Guard last month, obtaining a contract that puts me in Ft. Benning for 11B OSUT and Airborne. I ship 20110726. I was administered an APFT this past weekend for drill at the RSP (Recruit Sustainment Program) and did well. I have shin splints and will be resting for 2 weeks to make sure they go away.

The current goal is to continue to work hard so I can 300 the APFT by the time I go to OSUT. I'm also studying general orders, soldier's creed, warrior ethos, commands, ranks etc. so that I can be on top of everything when I get there. I have been told that I should ask my Drill SGT about Ranger School about 6-10 weeks in if I am squared away.

-Sand

Do this only if you want the Drill Sergeant to take your balls and display them as a warning to all future fucksticks who don't know their place.

Now push. Then read and learn.
MSG Hit_it

@Bragg
hit_it
Paratrooper

Post by hit_it »

Cayo is talking about having gotten an Option 40, which is possible during training if you did not originally enlist with one. ACTIVE DUTY ONLY.

You are trying to find a way to go to Ranger school while attending initial entry training. Two totally different things, combined with the fact you are also in a reserve component.

I do not currently know the NG's WTC standard for attendance at Pre-Ranger. I will ask some questions of some people.
MSG Hit_it

@Bragg
hit_it
Paratrooper

Post by hit_it »

I was at Benning today and was able to speak briefly to someone about your issue. They stated that the knew of no situation in which a initial training Soldier could attend Pre-Ranger while in IET status, even at the NG's WTC.

Still working on a 100% answer, but if I were you I would start thinking about another course of action.
MSG Hit_it

@Bragg
hit_it
Paratrooper