Introduction

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Crazyhorse21
Egg

Introduction

Post by Crazyhorse21 »

Here's a some info about me:

I usually go by my last name, pronounced "Gunner" but Mitch is fine too. I enlisted in the USAR while in college, I didn't know much about the Army other than that I wanted to be a part of it. I attended BCT at Ft. Benning, came back and was extremely disappointed with my unit. Not long after I contracted as an SMP Cadet, and did a conditional release into the ARNG. I spent the next two years in a Heavy CAB, in both Infantry and Armor units. I commissioned May 2009 and branched Armor. I Graduated BOLC Jan 2010, and am currently a 1LT serving as a PL in tank company. I'll be deploying this spring in support of OND. The goal is to come back, attend Ranger school and my MCCC residence courses, then apply for Active duty. I realize that AD is not taking a lot of "prior service" right now; all of my contingency plans still include Ranger school.

Ranger school has been a personal goal of mine for some time. My reason for pursuing Ranger school is for personal development. I believe Soldiers deserve good leaders, and Ranger school is the best leadership school we have available. Having been heavy for almost my entire career I realize that my light Infantry skills are probably lacking. As of right now I intend to do a lot more reading than posting. I came to the site primarily to learn from those who have BTDT.

Where I've been:
HHC 367th En Bn 08/2006-05/2007
D Co 1/194 AR 05/2007-12/2008
A Co 1/194 AR (attached from D Co) 12/2008-05/2009
C Co 1/194 AR 05/2009-Present
Jim
Rest In Peace Ranger

Re: Introduction

Post by Jim »