Advice please on obtaining OPT40

Questions and Answers about obtaining an Option 40 Contract and other routes to serving as a Ranger in the US Army.
Silverback
Ranger

Post by Silverback »

OK..I'll pretend like I haven't seen or heard this a few times.
NoMoreRegrets wrote:Hello. Name is Kyle. I'm a 33 (almost 34) yo father of 2, husband to an amazing wife, and I'm a world-champion desk-jockey, computer programmer for the last 12 years with many great achievements and records, like sitting my ass in front of my computer for more than 24 hours in a single sitting.

I hate what I do for a living. I hated it when I started, and I hate it now. There were a few times that it was enjoyable, like... well, no... come to think of it, it's sucked ass the whole time.

When I was 17 I wanted to join the Army, and join the Rangers. My parents dissuaded me and sent me to college, and so I went. I regretted it, but figured I would just join later. Well, later came, then I was dissuaded by my girlfiend, now wife. Hell, the cold war had wound down, lots of military folk, like my Uncle, were getting forced early retirement, and there didn't seem to be much need. So I forged on doing what I was doing - programming computers.

I regret not joining. I've regretted it even more since 9/11, but I thought I was too old to join then. I've just recently learned that I can join until my 35th birthday, and damnitall, that's what I'm going to do. No way in hell I'm going to be dissuaded by anyone - I will not live the rest of my life with this regret.

I'm shaping up right now - riding the desk doesn't help much in that department. I'm currently scoring mid to upper 50's on a self-adminstered APFT, and as soon as I can raise that to the 70's, I'm signing the enlistment papers. It wasn't too many years ago that I could max the scores in all the events - I can get there again. I'm no stranger to PT and that sweet PT pain. It'll just take me a few months to get fully reacquainted, but I will.