This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

miller74md
USMC Recon/ Ranger

USMC 3rd Recon Bat. Intro

Post by miller74md »

Greetings all.

I served active duty USMC from '92-'96.

MCRD Paris Island, 0311 (basic infantry) originally, 0321 ultimately. After School of Infantry I did the indoc for a reconnaissance assignment.

First (and last) duty station was Delta Co. 3rd Recon Batt, Okinawa. I extended my overseas tour every year to stay with my unit. 3rd Recon Batt went from Batt to Company to Division and several other different versions over the course of my 4 years. My platoon went from a recon platoon to being assigned to SOTG as a Direct Action Platoon. I was an explosive entry breacher and shooter for the DAP.

After my stint assigned to SOTG/DAP I went to Airborne School at Ft. Benning, GA. I was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time in the right neighborhood and worked into an open slot at Ranger School. I graduated straight through with class 7-94. I consider myself very fortunate having been through Ranger School. Only a select few Marines are ever given the opportunity.

I went back to Oki and spent the remainder of my enlistment in the Reconnaissance Indoctrination Platoon (RIP) training new Recon Marines.

I didn't want to go to the Drill Field and didn't want to go to Recruiting. Neither are a good fit for me. I'd blown out my knee jumping out of planes and couldn't see doing anything different from an MOS.

I left the Marine Corps and worked as a civilian paramedic and eventually full-time fire fighter. I'm a Captain now in charge of fire investigations and the local Union President. All my success, I attribute equally to my Marine Corps and my Ranger tab.

Long strange trip it's been someone once said. Semper Fi.
Ranger Ron
Ranger/LRRP/Admin

Re: USMC 3rd Recon Bat. Intro

Post by Ranger Ron »

Welcome to ArmyRanger.com, Ranger Marine. Thanks for you service to our great country!