Intro

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Muskrat
Egg

Intro

Post by Muskrat »

Greetings, Rangers.

My name is Alex, and I'm an 18-year-old freshman at CSU. I'm in ROTC but not currently contracted. I was 5' 7" and 135lb the last time I had access to a scale (a while ago). I have no disqualifying medical problems that I know of. My physical conditioning consists of Ranger Challenge practices with some lifting on the side. ("Ranger Challenge" is a multi-state ROTC competition. I'm on the underclassman team.) I figured that the Ranger Challenge stuff would be decent prep work for the time being, as it includes plenty of PT and some rucking.

My most recent practice APFT scores are listed below. While they are lower than my last graded scores, the Ranger Challenge team, unlike the ROTC APFT graders, require perfect form. So, I believe that these scores are more representative of my true ability. Reps are listed, not points.

Pushups - 60
Situps - 70
Run - 12:30 (from last graded apft)

Note that these are given during the normal training cycle with no tapering off, so it is not inflated like some APFT scores might be.

Rucking is probably my worst event right now, so I'm continuing to plug away. We go once a week. I don't have any times for that, as I don't know the exact distances we do. But to be perfectly honest, it's often pretty tough for me just to stay in formation. While I'm definately not the worst rucker on the underclassman team, I'm difinately not the best, either.

I've come to the site with the ambition of someday being a Ranger. I will do whatever it takes to get there, and any advice given will not be wasted. Thank you, Rangers, for taking the time and having the interest to read by intro.
Hoover
Ranger

Post by Hoover »

Welcome and Good Luck!
2/75 C Co. 81-84
Ranger Class 14-82
"Cry Havoc Let Slip The Dogs of War"
1st SPWAR Tng Bn (Abn) USAJFKSWCS 87'
RLTW !