Post military government job opportunities

Turning warriors into productive civilian leaders: Employment & Education, Dealing with Veteran's Administration, etc.

Moderator: Site Admin

straightshooter
Tadpole

Post military government job opportunities

Post by straightshooter »

Hey there everyone! I am not an expert at this but I currently work in Human Resources at a VA Hospital. This kind of ties in with Ranger Abell's job thread.

What can a Ranger do???? Well let's take that a step further.. What can a post veteran do???

The way that our office works on posting employment for our work force is like this.... If you are what we call General Public (a civilian without any veteran or prior federal work history) you stand very little to none on even getting a job packet to apply for work at the hospital.
Granted each VA is set up differently on their criteria, but this portion of the hiring is basically the same nation wide.

IF you are a veteran or a disabled veteran you are given preference to apply for any government job. (One of the few bennies)
Government jobs are awesome! Most all are salary based and like mine most run administrative hours, unless your profession states otherwise(ie. police officer, nurse may run rotations)Administrative hours are 7:30-4:00 pm M-F!!!

You automatically start to accummulate leave time AND the longer you serve in the military, the more that they will give you for leave(ex. 6hours vs 8 hours per pay period towards leave)This means that if let's say you have worked in your job only about 26 weeks (6 months)That's 13 pay periods at 8 hours leave granted every pay period, That means you already have saved about 104 hours of leave.

Do the math! You already have 2 weeks vacation coming for only working 6 months at your job!!!