Introduction

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

Longhorn98
Egg

Introduction

Post by Longhorn98 »

Rangers, ladies and gentlemen: My name's Robert, and I'm a 29 year-old DEP'er awaiting my ship date of 21 July 2005. I've lurked on this site for a few weeks and already I've found a wealth of helpful information. I've signed an 11x contract but was unable to secure an Airborne/Opt. 40 as a result of LASIK surgery I had in 2003 (according to MEPS I can't have Airborne guaranteed with a medical waiver). I intend to volunteer for Airborne/RIP/SF if I'm given the chance at BCT-Ft. Benning.

I'm a graduate of the University of Texas with 7 years experience sitting behind desks staring at computer screens. It would take far too much of your time to explain why I'm compelled to enlist at my age other than to say that, for once in my life, I want to accomplish something truly extraordinary and I think the Army can provide me that opportunity. I look forward to proving myself and serving alongside our country's best and brightest.

I have dedicated myself to becoming a Ranger since I learned the story of the late Ranger Pat Tillman. Ranger Tillman exemplified the noble traits of all Rangers, all soldiers and hopefully all Americans, and I can only hope that one day I can be considered an equal among such honorable men.

Thank you for the opportunity to introduce myself.
RTO
BANNED

Post by RTO »

Welcome Robert. Thank you for signing up. I hope your dream of becoming a Ranger comes true some day. If it helps, I also went thruough RIP at 29. It can be done. Good luck to you.
Kilted Heathen
Tadpole

Post by Kilted Heathen »

Tell them to kiss your ass.
You can get Airborne with a med waiver, your recruiter just doesn't want to work for you.
We have a couple of SMEs here on recruiting that will be able to give you better guidance.