Is fitness crucial to being a good leader (in the military)?

No Snivel Zone. PT - Pushups, Flutterkicks, Running, Roadmarching.
avidwanderer
USAF Vet/US Army Chopper Pilot

Is fitness crucial to being a good leader (in the military)?

Post by avidwanderer »

I am a firm believer that to be a good leader in any infantry or infantry-related career field one must be fit, as well as have leadership qualities. One without the other will not yield good results. I am relatively new to the military (3 years), but have seen fitness playing a crucial rule in leadership while in training environments.

Some people in my career field don't agree that fitness has anything to do with leadership. I am not saying that if you are fit, you are a good leader, I am saying that if you are not fit, you aren't a good leader (for the mission).

I realize there are good unfit leaders such as corporate bosses, etc, etc, however I am talking about a leadership specific to the realm of the military grunt.

Any comments? I am here to learn, as always.
Nov 2001--March 2006 52 SFS, 49 OSS
as active duty air force security forces
--crossed to army--
March 2006-May 2006 WOCS Class 06-07
May 2006-Nov 2007 B Co. 1/145th
Nov 2007-In a US army CAB
Oct 2008--Oct 2009 Camp Speicher B. 3-10 AVN
Oct 2010--Present JAF Task Force Six Shooters (Calvary)
AIR CAV!!!!
Nomad
Ranger

Post by Nomad »

What exactly do you base your opinion on?
ma91c1an
Triple Canopy

Post by ma91c1an »

kind of hard to lead from the front if you are always sucking wind.
-------
Classes 12, 13, and 14-81.
Company A, 2d Battalion (Ranger), 1st Platoon, "Bad 'Muthers," 1980-1984;
SFQC 4-84.
Company B, 2d Battalion, 1st Special Forces Group (Airborne), ODA 151, 1984-1986.
avidwanderer
USAF Vet/US Army Chopper Pilot

Post by avidwanderer »