SITREP- Andrew

Commo from our members who are in OSUT, Jump School, RIP, Ranger School, etc.
brighterthanthesun
Future Soldier

SITREP- Andrew

Post by brighterthanthesun »

Hello Rangers,

It's been quite some time since my last post,(took the read lots/post little idea to heart) and so I figured I would give an update. I graduated BCT at Ft. Leonard Wood back on February 19th. BCT was much easier than anticipated. The hardest parts were waiting around, dealing with immature shitbags, and the cold. Good Lord, was it cold. If you are going to Ft. Leonard Wood in the winter be ready for some bitter freezing days and nights. When we qualified with our M-4 it was 11 degrees out. Everyone was shivering and miserable, but you just have to find the mental resolve to carry on. I ended up shooting sharpshooter 33/40, and am mildly happy with those results. I had never done any shooting before, and range time was limited due to weather constraints. I know with more practice I'll be able to do better and work my way up to Expert.

I know that it has been said before, but the PT is very easy. You HAVE to do PT in your free time, if you want to see improvements. We only ran once or twice a week as the roads were constantly iced over, but me and some friends would make up for it by running/rucking up and down the stairs in our barracks and doing lunges and squats. There is also more than enough downtime throughout the day and night to get extra pushups and situps in. If you want to see improvements, then you have to put the extra time in. Besides, there is not much to do in your freetime anyways.