MIND POWER

Eight weeks of smoke, training & evaluation.
Saltbitch

MIND POWER

Post by Saltbitch »

This is a question that I pose to the BTDT crew, because I notice there are a lot of DEP's with questions about PT. Perhaps hindsight doesn't afford me the ability to think in terms of "What are the limits to___" or "what is the minimum required for_____". I guess BN changed my(our) mindsets to think more in terms of 110%. Always doing more, always going one step farther than you thought you could, etc. Does anyone have any examples that could illustrate the point that I think we all try to make?

When I graduated RIP, I thought,"Wheeew! the hard part's over." As we all know, I couldn't have been more wrong. My first morning of PT with my squad was utter hell. I would have gone through 10 RIPs instead of that torture. And guess what kids? IT NEVER GOT ANY EASIER. BN is all about pushing farther and breaking limits; even if that means breaking yourself. I knew guys who literally almost dropped dead on road marches because there was NO WAY they were gonna fall out. My squad leader was prepping to go to pre-scuba, which meant so were we :wink: I was new and cocky and every time they smoked me they always asked "do you want to quit yet". My HOOAH motivated response was always,"you can smoke my body but you can't smoke my mind!" Well one day while at the pool, they came up with the idea of a challenge. The 'deal' was that if I could hold my breath longer than my squad leader, then the smoke would stop. We both went under and sat there for what seemed like an eternity. At some point I closed my eyes, and tried to relax. I held my breathe as long as I could; everything was riding on this one. What I didn't know was that my squad leader had surfaced VERY early on. When the pain of holding my breath combined with the fear of actually drowning, I thought that this was the longest I could possibly go. I exhaled my air and began to surface. Before I actually came completely up,