Crossfit pro/cons

No Snivel Zone. PT - Pushups, Flutterkicks, Running, Roadmarching.
Musashistudent3108
Embryo

Crossfit pro/cons

Post by Musashistudent3108 »

So I just started training at my local Crossfit gym in preparation for OSUT/RASP. (I am satisfied with my performance on the RPFT so far, the idea was to improve, but do so without sustaining injury prior to training). So I am adding Crossfit to my PT plan.

However, we spend a lot of time on Olympic style lifting, like power cleans, front squats, snatches, etc. Is any of this going to be useful to me? Or is it just a waste of time?
1/214th FA GA ANG 2009-2011
3/108th CAV (R&S) GA ANG 2011-2013

"think lightly of yourself and deeply of the world"- M. Musashi
"a pint of sweat will save a gallon of blood"- G.S. Patton
"You must understand that there is more than one path to the top of the mountain" - M. Musashi
Jim
Rest In Peace Ranger

Re: Crossfit pro/cons

Post by Jim »

When are you going to get a Ranger contract?
Ranger Class 13-71
Advisor, VN 66-68 69-70
42d Vn Ranger Battalion 1969-1970
Trainer, El Salvador 86-87
Advisor, Saudi Arabian National Guard 91, 93-94
75th RRA Life Member #867
Musashistudent3108
Embryo

I am waiting on my recruiter to get me an appointment at MEPS. I project being there in about a week.

I had to get a DA form 7349 updated before I could even go to MEPS, two days ago I found a Doc who was willing to sign.

once I arrive there I have already explained to my recruiter that I will not be signing for anything less than an option 40. I told him 11X was my preference but I would consider 68W, 13F, and 25U.

"You must understand that there is more than one path to the top of the mountain" - M. Musashi
Baseplate
Ranger

Post by Baseplate »

Firstly, who are you talking to in your 2nd post?
Second fitness is not a waste of time. Some Crossfit gyms can be a little stupid so mind your body's health.
HHC 1/75 mtrs Apr 2000- dec 2003
hang it, FIRE!!!!