Intro - Budd

Who are you? What is your age/education level? Clearly state the purpose of your visit. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

Budd
Egg

Intro - Budd

Post by Budd »

Rangers,

My family calls me Budd, I am a 21 year-old college student, planning to enlist with an 11X Option 40 contract. I've been reading mostly the "Letters from School" and "About RASP" sections of this board for a while, and decided to make an account and introduce myself as I prepare to get a contract in the coming months. I'm hoping to benefit from the mentorship and the specific tasks and preparation that I have seen help other hopefuls on this board earn the scroll.

I grew up on the Gulf Coast and then on a lake, so I love the water and the outdoors. I’ve studied Russian for 5 semesters. I ran cross country in high school and now I’m an amateur/college club triathlete and endurance runner. I race sprint- and Olympic-distance, and I’ve run a 13.1, a few 26.2s, and a 50mi.

Here’s to 50 more some day, but maybe with a little bit of weight this time.
Disinfertention
Ranger/Admin

Re: Intro - Budd

Post by Disinfertention »

Hey Budd,

Welcome to ArmyRanger.com. We do take mentoring young DEPs and folks like yourself seriously.. so if your goal is to become a Ranger you've definitely found the right website for that. Ensure you have read all the stickies and FAQs before you post any questions. Google or searching the web is a great option too as an informed question is much better than just an empty one.

I ran 18 miles once. And that was about it for me. Not to say I won't train again someday to do half or full marathon type events but... Yeah. That's pretty impressive stuff to knock out a 50 miler!