Intro - ncgater

IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

Forum rules
IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.
ncgater
Ranger Dad

Intro - ncgater

Post by ncgater »

Hey folks. Special shout out to Ranger Jim!

First off, I am an Army Veteran. Served from 1982-86 as an 82B. The MOS is defunk now but it was awesome while I was in, Construction Surveyor. After basic at Ft. Dix, I went to Ft. Belvoir for AIT. Yeah, I told you it was awesome. My first duty station was Ft. Stewart from April '83 to Oct. '84. When you enter Ft. Stewart from Hinesville you will see three tracked vehicles on display. Examine what they sit on. Yeah, I helped build that. I served in the 92nd Engineer Battalion, HHC, in the S3. Glory Through Achievement!

After Ft. Stewart, I did a tour in Germany. From '84 thru '86 I was with the 9th Combat Engineer Battalion in Aschaffenburg Deutschland. Being in a Combat Engineer battalion, the work was not nearly so great but Germany and Europe were awesome. I learned to ski in the Alps, drove to Spain for vacation and learned to hang glide in Berchtesgaden all with a bunch of help from the Army. I served Honorably and was discharged in Oct 1986 as an E-5.