Introduction - James

IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.

Moderator: Site Admin

Forum rules
IF you are a Ranger or are serving/have served in the Armed Forces, please include your dates of service, unit(s) and additional info. Please protect your privacy by not including full names and current personal information.
loctavius
Embryo

Introduction - James

Post by loctavius »

Hello all,

Apparently I violated protocol by posting and not doing this first. Sorry about that! I'm having issues finding my way around. Hopefully you won't hold it against me.

I am a disabled veteran of Desert Storm. I was 16S10 - MANPADS, or Stinger Gunner if you want the unofficial title. I believe the 16 series has been redesignated as 14 now. I also was a driver for the M163 Vulcan. I was in from 1988-1992. I joined in the summer between 11th and 12th grade with the intention of doing 20+ years.

I spent about a year and a half at Ft. Bliss. I was assigned to A 5/62, 11th ADA. I got tired of being in a FORSCOM unit on a TRADOC post, so I requested levy for Korea and got it. I further asked for duty on the DMZ and got that, being assigned to A 5/5 ADA. I really loved that year. I PCS'd back to Ft. Bliss and three weeks later was sent to Desert Shield.