close calls

Entering the area of operations: Static Line and HALO Airborne Operations
AcoG275
Embryo

close calls

Post by AcoG275 »

Now, i'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination(12 jumps?) however, it seemed like i had one too many close calls:

Collided with a 240 gunner in the air(thank god i bounced off)

Ran off of someones parachute..."shit, it's gona collapse, it's gona collapse"

Narrowly missed getting drilled by another guy about to land....

Thinking about going back in, and i hope i got all the close calls out of my system :)

Anybody ever used they're reserve and if so what was that like?
Banned - Admin Concensus

20 JUN 2007
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Cool - I never ran across the top of anyone else's canopy. That must have been a trip. Only had a weird twisted bunch of 550 cord above my head once and that was probably the wildest bike riding I'd done in my life to get it untwisted.
PocketKings
Ranger

Post by PocketKings »

I got tangled with an AF SERE instructor in Airborne School. We leapfrogged in. Turns out some jumper a a few pax up from me sat down in the door and messed up the flow. He and I jumped out at almost the same moment. I went to check my canopy and there was a zoomie in it. That was jump 4. Jump 6 was Ranger School and I landed in a swamp. Jump 7 I broke my back.

Seems like you're par for the course.
RS 01-00
82d (1-325 AIR) 99-00
101st (2-502d IN) 00-03
Horned Toad
Ranger

Post by Horned Toad »

I have never pulled a reserve.

I did have a 2400-foot snivel of Vieques Island one time thanks to a SF Team Sgt. Him, this will be the best opening chute ever. Me, ummm I weigh 150, I don’t need a slow opening chute, and they are slow enough. Him, awww this will be great. Me, hey isn’t that slider thing supposed to be up top. Him oh yaa thx.