Hi and thanks for a great site!!!

This Archive will be used for posts 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

VeteranVixen
US Army Veteran

Hi and thanks for a great site!!!

Post by VeteranVixen »

Hello!
I came across this site hunting for more info on my husband's recently signed contract. I am an Army Veteran - I was a 46R Broadcaster stationed in Uijongbu South Korea from 98-99 and in Vicenza, Italy from 99-01. I got out right after 9/11.

I'm also a military brat (as are both of my parents) my Dad is retired 7th group SF - he had a dive team right before he retired as a MSG but also has his HALO. While obviously some rivalries exists amongst special ops my Dad was thrilled when my husband scored a contract for 92R (Parachute Rigger) with option 40. He's certainly happy about having a rigger in the family so he can start skydiving again.

Immediately there was speculation about his contract which is part of what lead me here. The recruiters at the station said that they didn't see the 40 option pop up in the computers very often. As it stand he ships off July 13th for basic at Ft Jackson then he's slated for Airborne School then to 3 weeks of RIP and his first duty assignment is listed as Ranger School.

I was amazed to learn about the confusion that exists with soldiers earning their Ranger tabs. While I was a broadcaster the soldiers in Vicenza were able to go through pre-Ranger. My boyfriend at the time went through it but got out before actually going to Ranger school.

I am so excited for my husband and know that he will get through all the training and end up in the 75th. It's an honor and you'll certainly see me being the ultimate Ranger wife. :D

I am thrilled to have found this forum and look forward to learning all I can about Rangers. I welcome any tips and advice and hope to some day be in a position to help others like me.