Introduction

This Archive will be used for Future Soldiers and Civilian Introductions 6 months old and older

Moderator: Site Admin

DeathBeforeDishonor
Egg

Introduction

Post by DeathBeforeDishonor »

Hello Rangers, Families, and Veterans. The name is Greg, and I'm currently in my first year of college. I was very close to enlisting after high school, but was talked out of it, and convinced that getting a degree first would be the smart thing to do. However, I keep finding myself thinking that college isn't right for me. I HATE where my life is. I don’t hate myself, I am just unhappy with where I am. I don’t like getting up, and hating the day ahead of me, and I despise my asshole professors who give boring lectures about things I already know.

My friends and family tell me that everyone hates their job, their bosses, their professors, but it's WAY more than that. Nothing I do makes me excited or happy.

Yesterday I received a message from a friend overseas. It really has me thinking. He is earning the right to call himself a man, and what am I doing? I've wanted to do this for a long time and whatever the reason, right or wrong, I believe my country can use me, especially now, and I'm seriously contemplating dropping out of college, and actually doing something meaningful with my life. Becoming a Ranger is a dream of mine, and if I make the commitment, I KNOW I will succeed.

I have been reading this forum for a little while now, and there seems to be some great people around here who are willing to help us young guys through decisions such as this. I know many of you Rangers did not have people holding your hand through this process, or preparing you, and telling you what to expect. But some advice is much needed. Thanks in advance, and of course, thank you for your service to our country. You set the example for us young guys to follow, and many of us wouldn't be doing what we are today if it wasn't for what you did yesterday.
Kilted Heathen
Tadpole