HK USP vs. SIG P220

Rifles, Machineguns, Mortars, etc...
Rgr_MindRiot

Post by Rgr_MindRiot »

While i have no experience with the HK i do have extensive range time with the P220 (See previous post). Both handguns fire a battle proven round which is practical and controlable. So, it really boils down to two things, personal preference and accuracy (as in controlability). You should keep in mind that in a confrontation the threat is not standing there like a silouette target and therefore you must remember that he who gets the hits on target the fastest wins. This is the point where controlability comes in, anyone can shoot slow, aimed shots but getting a hit on target along with fast follow-up shots is critical in a combat scenerio whether it be in Bagdad or Boston. So, run both guns through their paces. Most likely one will allow you to shoot faster (without sacrificing accuracy) than the other due to the angle of the slide to grip, which is one factor that affects your ability to manage recoil. I love Colt .45s but i can't hit with them as well as my P220 for the reason just mentioned. Did see SP in 9mm version some years ago, it reminded me of Ruger pistols probably because it was designed to have many attachments thus it looked a little bulky. Hope this helped.
Creeping Death
Ranger

Post by Creeping Death »

Leatherneck:

This may be a little off topic, but you may want to take a look at the Springfield XD series.

I was recently trying to decide between HK and Sig myself. At the time I was shooting a 1911. Then, I started reading articles about this "new" weapon from Springfield Armory. Then I tested one.

It takes down like a Sig, has a grip angle and a grip safety like a 1911, has a trigger safety like a Glock (BUT IT'S A SINGLE ACTION TRIGGER!), and has a polymer frame. After I shot one, I knew I had to have one. Then I saw the price, and my mind was definitely made up.